Goals and Desires

October 1, 2010 at 6:00 am 8 comments


I’ve been doing a lot of blog reading lately (it gets addicting!) and keep coming across a similar blog post (or static page in many cases.) This post is something to the effect of “25 things I want to do before I turn 25” or “100 things to do before I die.”

I was thinking of doing a similar post since I just recently had a birthday (thank you for all the birthday love – you guys are awesome! – there’s some pictures on the bottom, due to some requests we’ve been getting) But then it made me start thinking…I mean any number over 25, when it comes to listing, is going to take quite a bit of time AND patience for someone to sit and read it all!

The whole point of making these lists is to set some sort of goal for yourself, right? (And then if…for some awful reason you come across this list a couple of years from now and realize you’ve only reached half or one fourth of your goals…you get upset and down on yourself!) -To clarify, I’m not trying to be a Negative Nancy…but I’ve seen it happen quite a few times.

To clarify, I’m not trying to that having lists like this is bad or having goals is silly! I do believe that it is very important to have goals in your life so you aren’t just wandering around aimlessly and you are indeed growing to do something! (I wouldn’t be where I am today if I didn’t have any goals in mind or a tentative life plan!)

Spending time & being a role model to beautiful family in your life - that truly matters!

What I have been thinking is…okay, so if I wrote up a list of things to do before my next birthday…would ALL of the items on the list be to benefit someone else? More than likely (especially when compared to some I have read), the items on the list fulfill a person’s selfishness. -Woohoo, I swam with the dolphins today! That was a once in a life time experience and super fun! (To clarify: I am not making fun of anyone or trying to hurt anyone’s feelings! This is something I have always wanted to do in my life, so I am using it for an example.)

But…really…who did swimming with the dolphins help? Just the employee’s at Discovery Cove continue getting a salary. Oh, and maybe helping to feed those little buggers I swam with!

Swimming with the dolphins would be such a luxury. I am not saying it wouldn’t be fun or amazing – because it would! But why should I work toward goals and accomplish certain things just to fulfill my own desires?!

I should live a life that, on a day to day basis, effects someone I encounter in a positive light – make a difference to them somehow. Even if it’s seemingly small, I should make more of an effort to make a difference!

Life is SHORT – it’s a mere blink of an eye. I want to live a life that will help make the world be a better place!! In order to that, I can’t be selfish. I need to live, day to day, for other people. I need to help others before I help myself. (I won’t go hungry or anything, don’t you worry! -I’d pass out!) What I mean by that is…once my “needs” are met, instead of moving on to my “want” list, I will help someone else accomplish their “need” list.

This world would be so nice and so much more wonderful if more people would do this.

Join me in helping others meet their needs?

(ADDITION: PICTURE TIME!)

Thank you to those who made my birthday extra special! xoxo.

Love my family!

Momma & I!

Chenzo & I!

Much love,

Baby jar maker

Entry filed under: Ms. Pretty Billy.

MOPS It’s Okay to Still a Kid…Right??!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  October 2, 2010 at 8:23 am

    That was beautiful Camille. What an amazing, precious daughter I have. I am so proud of you! Love you xoxo

    Reply
  • 2. MamaOnDaGo  |  October 2, 2010 at 3:15 am

    I’ve never made a list. Of course there are things I would love to experience. I do believe in trying to live life to the fullest every day. I must admit, some days are better than others. Living life
    to the fullest doesn’t require money either. It’s the little things that cab make a big impact. Very similar to helping others with their “need” list.
    BTW: you look like your mom! Hope you had a great bday.

    Reply
    • 3. Baby Pickel  |  October 4, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Amen, amen, amen!!
      Some people say I look like my Mom…some say I don’t. 😀
      Thanks for the kind words, Mama!!
      oxo-Camille

      Reply
  • 4. ML  |  October 2, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I commend you for making a conscious effort of trying and achieving goals you’ll set for yourself!

    Just found your blog and I love it so far!

    xox,

    20 York Street

    Reply
  • 5. Grace  |  October 1, 2010 at 9:39 am

    I agree with you to some extent on your views and I commend you. Let me put a different slant on this however. I’m not a water person so swimming with the dolphins would never be on my list LOL.
    A goal like that though is really a gift back to God. It is taking the time to really appreciate His beauty and creation that He made for us. It is also a way of following His word on Loving Your Neighbor as you do yourself. So many people miss the part about loving themselves because they have never learned how to do it. When we learn how to love ourselves and take time for something that we really want to do then it energizes us and makes us stronger to help others achieve their goals. This was a lesson that was so hard for me to learn as I raised two children on my own and became great at sacrificing but gave nothing to myself. So to answer you question about how swimming with the dolphins is helping anyone else
    ?
    God because you took time to appreciate his beauty.

    The dolphins because they had a play mate for the day and you helped feed them.

    The employees because you supported their passion.

    Last but not least yourself because you achieved a goal and a contact with a beautiful creature created by God and think of all the praising you will do in your heart when you realize what a true creator He his from forming this wonderful creature.

    Just another way of looking at it.
    Grace

    Reply
    • 6. Baby Pickel  |  October 1, 2010 at 9:48 am

      You are so right, Grace! But…God’s beauty is every where and that was just an outlandish example. (And that might be where my “animal rights” self comes out, too. Hehe.) I do love the way you are looking at it, though. It really does make you think!

      Unfortunately, some people lose sight of this – and that is more so who I was talking about. Most of the time, God is not glorified in selfish acts. If you are glorifying Him in this type of situation, then of course…enjoy yourself, have fun, & praise God for it!

      Thank you for helping me to see another point of view! oxox-Camille

      Reply
  • 7. Sherry  |  October 1, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Love this! I want to be there for those in need as well. I’d rather focus on that. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your heart!
    Have a blessed day!
    Sherry

    Reply
    • 8. Baby Pickel  |  October 1, 2010 at 8:49 am

      Thank you for the kind words Miss Sherry!! 🙂 Makes me happy to see that you are reading – especially when it’s something so dear to me! May your Friday and weekend (woohoo!) be a truly blessed few days! oxox-Camille

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


She will love it!

#1 Baby Shower Gift

incredible – WoW!

Blue Bird Says

Too busy to check on us.
Let us remind you!
Do it for a Momma!
Enter your email below

Join 54 other followers

Post Our Baby Jar!!

I want a baby jar!



