Social Media Wasn’t Built In A Day

October 19, 2010 at 6:00 am Leave a comment


Guest post by the amazingly talented Lauren Mack from “Hey, Lauren Mack!

 

“Finding out in 140 characters what a stranger has to say about you is like a mathematical equation without an established value of ‘x’. Who are you, stranger? What do you stand for? What do you like, and if it’s not me, then what does move you? What DO you look up to? Once I find that out, I’ll know how disappointed I should be.”

—-John Mayer on his blog

Twitter is something I’ve been wanting to talk about for a while. John Mayer raises the only con I’ve been able to see in regards to it’s functionality. For people at his level of fame, it HAS to be a constant report card.  The genius of Twitter is probably a big element of what drives people like him away from it. The negative feedback I get to my 140 characters of nonsense has been enough to keep me away from it for a few days in the past.

But it works for me.

I don’t always have a lot to say, despite my wishing to be heard. When I do have something to say, I tend to get to the point quickly and that’s all I’ve got for you. This has been both a blessing and an adversity in my life. 140 characters have forced me to become more precise and direct in my witticisms and thoughts. My small following has helped me with small writing opportunities, gained me a few real friends, and is now helping me with a family situation. A quick way to report my clever rhetoric or something I find interesting is all I need. This is something I can’t say the same for Facebook.

Really, Facebook is great. I’m not sure how I feel about their never-ending quest to outsource my privacy, but let’s ignore that for now. I added everyone I’ve ever known from all the corners of my life on Facebook. Alas, that was before I realized everyone I’ve ever known might not have the most brilliant thing to say and comment on my status and embarrass me. Let’s ignore that too, for now. I do enjoy keeping up with some people and Facebook is one of the faster ways to get a hold of someone I haven’t seen in years or suddenly need their assistance. It’s quickly becoming the “book” of the world, though, and soon we won’t even need phone books. Do we even, now? The fun thing about Facebook is how easy it is to group everyone together and see how quickly emotions rise. I say something negative or positive about a topical event and you see how much you didn’t realize you didn’t know about your best friend from two years ago. Yes, I do enjoy using Facebook as my puppet strings.

What I HAVE noticed is the difference in response between Facebook and Twitter. 8 times out of 10 a link to my blog will get less response on Facebook than Twitter. I don’t know if people in your personal life are afraid to comment on your work, or what, but people who have never met me have read more of my blog than some of my best friends. I’m not complaining, though, if it isn’t right for you then it isn’t right for you. Twitter finds the nice line between personal and industry and creates an environment where you can find your creativity matched, much like Tumblr.

The same people who say, “What are you gonna do on Twitter? Post about your lunch?” are probably the same people who post about their lunch on Facebook and are the same people who don’t belong on Twitter if they can’t see the practicality. Sure, the misuse of repeating your every move on Twitter day in and day out happens, but it’s just more of a suitable thing for Facebook. This is something that’s developed over time, for some reason. I expect to see someone’s complete daily schedule with timestamps on Facebook, but I expect to see something interesting that came from it on Twitter. Get it?

Social media is dividing us.

Entry filed under: Guest Post.

Military Dancing! Touching life story…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


She will love it!

#1 Baby Shower Gift

incredible – WoW!

Blue Bird Says

Too busy to check on us.
Let us remind you!
Do it for a Momma!
Enter your email below

Join 54 other followers

Post Our Baby Jar!!

I want a baby jar!



