First & Most Important of Parenting

August 3, 2011 at 7:00 am 1 comment


Guest Post from Brynna from Joy Filled Living
Children are gifts from the Lord.  Parenting is hard work, but it is also the most rewarding thing we will ever do.  Think about it…God blesses us with the gift(s) of children- HIS children- and He is giving US the honor of guiding them to Him.  There is no responsibility that is more important than leading those little souls back to Christ.
Deuteronomy 6 tells us, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.  These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” 
I am at a point with my eldest, who is five and a half, where we have been in the early stages of homeschooling and she (as well as myself) have entered the world of educational expectations.  Those around us wants to “grade” me on homeschooling by knowing if she’s reading yet, if she’s doing basic math, if she can write and spell.  She is a bright little cookie and has already picked up most of that on her own.  But when approached with those questions, which are often attempts at measuring up our homeschooling success (compared to what she would be required to be doing in public school), instead of responding with a list of my daughters accomplishments or a defense of our homeschooling abilities, I have been convicted to answer differently.  I explain that, first and foremost, our focus is on my children knowing Jesus.
I want my children to be grounded in Scripture.  My desire is for God’s Word to be written upon their hearts in ways that cannot be overlooked, and for them to find joy in it.  I want them to first think of God’s instruction and encouragement before every step they take.  I am far more concerned about my children knowing their Heavenly Father over learning to read and write.  Those things WILL come.  God does not command us to meet a formal schooling checklist beginning at preschool age.  He DOES command us, however, to train our children in the way they should go, and they will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)  Our mission is to teach our children the love of Christ, and to walk in His ways!
I find encouragement in remembering that my parenting isn’t based on how quickly my children learn in school, or on how well they can draw, or how large their vocabulary is, or how high they can count.  Parenting is, first and foremost, about gratefully welcoming these precious little gifts into our lives and then taking hold of their hands and walking alongside them back to our Savior.  What a beautiful honor it is that God has entrusted us to do just that.
Entry filed under: Guest Post.

Remember Sarah Bella? Asking for Input

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Krafty Max  |  August 4, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Hop’pin by from ‘Wobble Over Wednesday’. I’m following your blog now, wont you please come and follow me back?? ~KM

    Krafty Max Originals

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


She will love it!

#1 Baby Shower Gift

incredible – WoW!

Blue Bird Says

Too busy to check on us.
Let us remind you!
Do it for a Momma!
Enter your email below

Join 54 other followers

Post Our Baby Jar!!

I want a baby jar!



